May empties… The bumper edition

Wow, did I finish a lot this month. I figure it’s probably just that time of year when you’re half way through most of the products you started at the beginning of the year. Anyway, here we go!

The Body Shop Tea Tree Cool & Creamy Wash – This was one of my favourite face washes. Like my beloved Neutrogena Extra Gentle Cleanser, it has been discontinued. So, what did I like about this product? It had a tea tree/eucalyptus zing on the skin, which was very refreshing in the morning. Being a cream cleanser, I also felt it was gentle on my skin. I never used it to remove makeup, so I can’t say if it was effective on that side of things, but it was great as a pick-me-up morning cleanse and as a second cleanse. I mostly loved how cooling it felt both during and after using it. RIP.

Estee Lauder Day Wear Matte (foil sample) – I received this with the eyeshadow I bought from the Estee Lauder website when they were having a sale (I bought Magnetic Rose, in case you’re wondering!) and I used this sample I think two times. This was not enough for me to make any sort of decision about the product, but I also have an aversion to pot moisturisers to be honest (I made an exception for the Clarins Extra-Firming Day Cream… luxury!)

The Body Shop Fuji Green Tea Body Scrub – Didn’t like this. It isn’t scrubby in the least bit. It’s mostly a gel with little beads suspended in it. I ended up using it as a body wash. The scent was… green and clean, but not my favourite.

Not Your Mother’s Clean Freak Cleansing Conditioner – I really liked this range in general. I think this was supposed to be minty but there was only a hint of it. It was pleasant enough. I’d probably get it again.

Clarins Extra-Firming Day Cream – Pure luxury. I loved every moment of this, even though I hate pot moisturisers. It was thick, but not too thick for my combo skin, it was nourishing, it absorbed well, makeup went over the top of it with ease… I’d so get this again BUT only if it’s on 50% sale again. I just can’t justify its normal retail price.

Clarins Instant Concealer (Shade 01) – You will not believe how long I’ve been using this for. I’d say over a year. You need the tiniest amount. Towards the end of it, I hated this product. I felt like it needed to be set very well on my face otherwise I’d get mascara transferring onto my eyebags (great stuff) and the shades are in no way inclusive. I used 01, but I reckon if you were any lighter than me, this would not work for you. I’m about an NW20 in Mac. I think there are only 3 or 4 shades in this concealer as well, so I am guessing this doesn’t go very dark either. I won’t be repurchasing this. I’m currently finishing up a NYX concealer (which I’m also not a fan of).

Clinique Fresh Pressed Daily Booster – I finished this up AGES ago but while I was cleaning out, I realised I hadn’t thrown it out. I received this last year May I think. I liked it when I used it. I’m not sure if I would repurchase though. I’d definitely add it to a birthday list though!

Joico K-Pak Deep Penetrating Reconstructor for Damaged Hair (50ml) – Not sure if this was a deluxe sample size or the full size – I got it a couple of years ago in a Retailbox Secret Box. This stuff smelt a bit like bananas (which I didn’t hate) and left my hair SO SOFT after using it, but I wasn’t too sure how or where to include this in my routine, as it isn’t “rich” enough to be a conditioner but it’s NOT a shampoo.

Kerastase Nutritive Bain Satin 2 Exceptional Nutrition Shampoo (30ml) – This was definitely a sample. Also something I must have received in a Retailbox Secret Box or something similar. This was alright. It was just a basic shampoo in my opinion. Wouldn’t buy this!

Benefit Dream Screen SPF 45 for Face (6ml) – This came in a Benefit tester set I bought. This sunscreen was always touted as one of the best in the beauty blogging world… at least a few years ago. I wasn’t massively impressed with it. It was a lot thicker than I thought it would be and definitely left a white cast on my face BUT it did absorb pretty well. Wouldn’t buy the full size.

Essence Happy Girls are Pretty Contour Set (I only used the contour) – Wow, this took for freaking ever to finish. Over a year, I reckon. Maybe almost 2 years. The highlight in this duo was absolutely rubbish, so I didn’t even bother trying to use it. The contour, however… I loved. I don’t think I’d call it a contour though, as it was quite red toned (completely matte though) on my skin. I used it as a bronzer. I’m now using Soap & Glory’s Solar Powder.

The Victorian Garden English Lavender Foaming Gel Face Cleanser (30ml) – My mom got this sample in one of her Faithful to Nature orders. I tried it on my face but found that it was just way too drying so I used it as a body wash. Heavy lavender scent, as expected from its name. Definitely a foaming formula! So many bubbles.

Clarins Extra-Firming Night Cream (15ml) – I received this deluxe sample with the day moisturiser. Again, I really enjoyed this product. What is up with this line? I really like the deluxe samples because everything comes in tubes. If only they put the damn full sizes in tubes too! Wouldn’t buy the full size due to its price, but I’d aim to pick up the kit that includes the full size day cream with this as an extra.

Sh’Zen Chocolate Body Scrub – I got this last year as a birthday gift. I’ve been using it sparingly throughout the year because I loved the scent and never wanted it to end. In terms of a scrub, this was crap. It was a thick cream that smelt like the most delicious warm dark chocolate, with little granules in it. The granules were too widely dispersed for it to be effective, but wow. Nourishing and lovely. I’d get this again purely for the scent but I’m pretty certain it was limited edition.

Soap & Glory Hand Food – Yum! I got this in a Soap & Glory bath set last year (I think). I liked this “pink” scent (smelt like pink to me!) and I’d use it again. Currently I’m using the Hand Chemistry hand cream.

About sonneillon

Avid reader (of sometimes dubious literature), word-lover and crazy TV series watcher. If I could live in a library, I would.

Leave a comment

Follow on Bloglovin

"We have lingered in the chambers of the sea
By sea-girls wreathed with seaweed red and brown
Till human voices wake us, and we drown."

- T. S. Eliot, The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock (1917)

Weirdoforest Pens

reviews and musings of a fountain pen addicted architect and illustrator

A Sophisticated Notion

Part Lingerie. Part Musings. Entirely Unique.

Sugar & Spice

A South African Beauty and Lifestyle Blog

Lucky Pony

A Blog About Excellent Pretty Things

Rattle and Mum

Rattle and Mum

Lines of Escape

Family travel, hidden gems and unforgettable destinations

Kate Loves Makeup

a beauty & lifestyle blog

Prettiful Blog

A South African Makeup and Beauty Blog

Lipgloss Kisses

Writer, rambler, raconteur