December done and dusted

2018. Can you believe it? 2017 went by in a flash and was fraught with medical drama. I’m glad to see the back of it, to be honest. Things haven’t exactly started very smoothly, though. Despite everything, I am going to make my very best effort to turn this year into one of growth, persistent and consistent happiness, and a time that I can look back on and smile.

My very last empties for 2017 was hardly much to discuss, but I thought I’d include it for completeness sake. I’m not sure if I’ll be doing empties this year, but let’s see.

Noughty To the Rescue Moisture Boost Conditioner
Unlike the shampoo, I really liked this. I felt like I used quite a bit due to its consistency, but it always left my hair feeling soft and bouncy. I haven’t repurchased. I swapped over to the Theravine Hair Protein Cream Mask (now finished, sadly! This stuff was really amazing!) and now I’m using Not Your Mother’s)

Aussie Miracle Moist Shampoo
I bought this when the Noughty shampoo wasn’t working for me (I gave the Noughty to my mom, who enjoyed it). This is an old favourite. I’m now using Head and Shoulders (which is almost done. I’ll use Not Your Mother’s next).

Clarins Daily Energiser Cleansing Gel (deluxe sample/mini)
I used this when I wasn’t staying at home. I think I’ve used one of these before back when my mom was still buying Clarins moisturisers regularly. It’s nice enough but not something I’d purchase myself.

Lux Soft Caress Softening Body Wash (750ml)
This was a huge bottle! I decanted it every now and then into a more manageable sized bottle. I’d probably repurchase, but I have a lot of body washes at the moment (thanks, Christmas!) and I want to try the Lush naked range, as I would ideally like to cut down my plastic usage this year.

Not Your Mother’s Intensive Hair Unit Renewal Treatment (sachet)
This was a really nice single-use hair mask. I’d definitely consider buying more… but I feel like it doesn’t fit with my plastic goals. Maybe in emergencies only?

Clarins Supra Volume Mascara
I loved this stuff SO much (great volume, super black) BUT… big but… It smudged on me. Smudged a lot. If you ever saw me with epic panda eyes last year, you can thank this mascara. It’d be fine for a good number of hours, and then wham, suddenly I’d look like I was wearing face paint. Not a cute look. I haven’t repurchased and I probably never will (sob). I want to try Lancome’s Monsieur Big, but that’s R350 (eep).

Loreal Super Liner So Couture Eyeliner
Brush nib eyeliners are the best, and this is no different. I tend to go through these every few months and I can’t bring myself to buy the Physicians Formula version due to the price tag (over R200 I think!) but I really want to try NYX’s Epic Liner next (about R199 if you can find it, and it also has a brush nib).

 

About sonneillon

Avid reader (of sometimes dubious literature), word-lover and crazy TV series watcher. If I could live in a library, I would.

One response to “December done and dusted

  1. Yay for cutting down on plastic 🙂

Leave a comment

Follow on Bloglovin

"We have lingered in the chambers of the sea
By sea-girls wreathed with seaweed red and brown
Till human voices wake us, and we drown."

- T. S. Eliot, The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock (1917)

Weirdoforest Pens

reviews and musings of a fountain pen addicted architect and illustrator

A Sophisticated Notion

Part Lingerie. Part Musings. Entirely Unique.

Sugar & Spice

A South African Beauty and Lifestyle Blog

Lucky Pony

A Blog About Excellent Pretty Things

Rattle and Mum

Rattle and Mum

Lines of Escape

Family travel, hidden gems and unforgettable destinations

Kate Loves Makeup

a beauty & lifestyle blog

Prettiful Blog

A South African Makeup and Beauty Blog

Lipgloss Kisses

Writer, rambler, raconteur