Will it ever end? The want list

Another month and more hankering after things I can’t afford. I have noticed a trend over the last few months – for a few years, my beauty wants were frequently focused on makeup items, but this year has been really different. I’m all about the skincare. Chalk it up to the approaching the 3-0 or that I have so much makeup, I could open a small store, but I’m kinda liking this new direction.

Now if only I could feel this enthusiastic about purchasing a gym contract… (for anyone confused and like “but Tarryn, you were going to gym 3 days a week for over a year! WHAT HAPPENED?!” We can all thank Liberty Life for that. They cut their rewards programme and suddenly the R800+ gym membership sans medical aid to cushion the blow resulted in me having to cancel it all together. I’m bleak, believe me.)

So as I hinted, this is mostly going to be a list of dreamy, expensive skincare, although I think I do have some surprises…and I may have to put in an order (using Aramex Global Shopper to get it here!) at the end of the month.

La Roche-Posay Effaclar Mat moisturiser – R220
I was well on my way to buying this after I saw the email in my inbox saying Dermastore is now selling LRP products BUT you need to spend R500 for free shipping, otherwise it’s R150. Everything else I may have considered getting from Dermastore is like R700 and up, which would be fine IF I WANTED TO SPEND R700 and up! Right now, I’m not interested in adding crap to my basket to avoid the R150, but I also don’t want to pay the R150. I guess I’ll have to wait until the brand is available in Dischem. Le-sigh.

Pretty much everything from The Ordinary, but particularly:

  • The Ordinary Niacinamide 10% + Zinc 1% – R140/USD 9.80 – Zinc and Niacinamide are good for oily, congested and blemish-prone skin. Perfect.
  • The Ordinary Buffet – R283/USD 20 – Basically a do-it-all anti-aging serum.
  • The Ordinary Advanced Retinoid 2% – R212/USD 14.90 – Well, have you ever seen anything like this for so cheap? They’re also launching a Retinol 1% sometime soon for about R152/USD 10.70. I mean COME ON!
  • The Ordinary Vitamin C Suspension 23% + HA Spheres 2% – R138/USD 9.70 – Vitamin C is supposed to do wonders for your skin, so um, yes please!

And since we’re talking serums…

Glossier – The Supers. In particular:

  • Glossier Super Pure – USD 28 – This also has Niacinamide and Zinc…But look at the price difference between this and The Ordinary version!

As a bonus, I’d just like to add that the Milky Jelly Cleanser, Balm.com, Mega Greens Galaxy Pack, Moisturising Moon Mask, Haloscope (Quartz) and Boy Brow (Light, probably) are still on my forever list (so basically everything).

Exuviance Triple Microdermabrasion Face Polish – R765
The girls at All Dolled Up have been talking about this stuff for ages. I love masks and exfoliators, so I think when I finish up a few of mine, I might splurge. Actually now that I think about it, this may have been in a previous lust list. Hmm. Oh well. I still want it! PS: I might have added this to my Dermastore cart so I could get free shipping BUT it’s sold out.

Bobbi Brown Eye Opening Mascara – R385
Yeah, that’s no Clicks mascara, but I am having absolutely no success with mascara at the moment. One of the bloggers I follow is Franish. She has the most amazing lashes (and eyes, and style, and everything!) but it was in this blog post that I really sat up and was like oh hi, what is that, can I have it? And she let me know it was the BB mascara. Sjoe!

Avene Mattifying Fluid – R200
So I might actually get this sooner rather than later. I’ve almost finished my moisturiser and I have no back ups because I just haven’t found anything WOW. Okay, I lie, I actually really like this one Clarins moisturiser, BUT I think it’s been discontinued and if it isn’t, it’s only available in a pot. WHY? WHY? I can’t do pot moisturisers, sorry 😦 Actually, I may have one more sample left… I’ll have to look. Anyway, Awkward Purse suggested I try this so it must be good 😀

Guerlain Lingerie de Peau – R995
Sob. Why so expensive. So, I used a sample of this stuff in the wrong shade and fell in love. I don’t know how to be un-in love with it… I’m finishing up some stuff at the moment, but I think once I’ve gone through about 2 foundations, I’ll really consider getting this. Another true favourite is the Dior Forever (I helped myself to a sample because the salespeople at Edgars suck). Both are so expensive… Maybe I’ll just live off samples??

Anything on your list?

About sonneillon

Avid reader (of sometimes dubious literature), word-lover and crazy TV series watcher. If I could live in a library, I would.

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin

"We have lingered in the chambers of the sea
By sea-girls wreathed with seaweed red and brown
Till human voices wake us, and we drown."

- T. S. Eliot, The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock (1917)

sonneillon’s tweets

The Glam Green Girl

A blog written by a South African girl focusing on cruelty-free beauty; style posts and lifestyle posts.

Lucky Pony

A Blog About Excellent Pretty Things

Rattle and Mum

Rattle and Mum

She Said

A blog about beautiful South African things

Lines of Escape

Travel Destinations, Outdoor Adventures & Hidden Gems

All Dolled Up

All about beauty

Beauty and The Boy | UK / Scottish Beauty Blog

Scottish Beauty Blog covering everything from skincare, hair and makeup to busting myths, finding dupes and breaking down trends

3 Kids, 2 Dogs and 1 Old House

Where parenting and life collide

Koekelooks

A beauty and lifestyle blog from a small town, South African perspective

Kate Loves Makeup

a beauty & lifestyle blog

Shakespeare & Sparkle

Books, Beauty & Lifestyle Bits

Prettiful Blog

A South African Makeup and Beauty Blog

lunalacey.com/

South African Beauty, Lifestyle & Fitness Blogger

Lipgloss Kisses

Writer, rambler, raconteur

I'll take it all

South African Fashion And Beauty Blog

