August dump

Wow, has the last handful of weeks been insane. I have hardly seen or spoken to anyone. To any of my friends who read this, I am so sorry I’ve been MIA. It looks like my October will be somewhat calmer – phew! – and my calendar is relatively free. Woohoo!

I thought I’d put up a post while I’m on a roll today. It also helps that today is quite a bit calmer than usual – yay for room to breathe!

I like looking back in my calendar to see what I actually got up to. According to this, I’ve done the following:

  • Sushi dinner – I think this was with old work colleages. Now you can see how insane it’s been… I can’t actually be sure, but I reckon it was with them since it was just before voting;
  • Dinner in the North – I can’t even remember what we ate. Gah;
  • Suicide Squad at iMax… That was pretty rad. Movie was okay but it was mostly just about the company, chilling out and eating popcorn;
  • I got a haircut! I love haircuts.

Well, that was short and sweet. I guess that’s to be expected, really.

So, onto the junk!

Happiness Is – Vanilla Swirl Cupcake Glowing Body Scrub
I got this from my brother’s gf for my birthday. Pleasant scent, but definitely NOT a scrub. It has little beady particles in it, but they are not scrubby and are so few and far between, it was a glorified body wash…which is what I used it for!

Beauty Buffet Cherry Blossom Whitening Mask
I’m all about the self care. And that means putting on my serial killer mask. Another one from the amazing Awkward Purse. I’ll be forever grateful for that gift you sent me 🙂

Clicks Cotton Pads Smooth Sealed Edge 80
These were okay. The edges were a bit rough. In absolute desperation, I ended up buying ridiculously priced cotton rounds from Woolworths…and now I’m stuck on them because they are just so damn good. So good that I finished the pack and bought another >.<

Lush Ro’s Argan Body Conditioner (biggest size)
I got this as a birthday present maybe 2 years ago. I know. I was welllllll over the use by date but I figured it still smelt the same as when I got it, and it hadn’t grown anything, become gloopy and weird or separated, so I used it. I must be honest, I used this for the sake of using it because the scent is just not my thing. The Rose Jam range is just not my… jam (sorry.) but it seemed like such a pity not to use this.

So, it does work, in case anyone is wondering. I slathered this all over after washing and then rinsed it off. Be careful when you get out the shower…it leaves the shower floor super slippery! I should know because I saw my life flash before my eyes 😛 After nearly dying, pat dry and there we go!

The one thing that gets me about these sorts of products… I buy a lot of shower gel based on scent. When I use this after washing, it completely replaces that dreamy scent with this one. Which sucks for me because I’m not a fan. I’d love to try African Paradise because that is a scent which reallllly gets me!

Kiehl’s High-potency Skin-firming Concentrate (sample)
Has this been discontinued? Has the name changed? I can’t find this stuff mentioned anywhere except on realllly old blog posts and websites. Someone, please enlighten me! I really, really, really love this. It makes my skin feel so freaking smooth the morning after. I would buy the full size in a heart beat but alas… Kiehl’s is a bit of a mish to get to and no one ever knows what I’m talking about when I mention this stuff. HELP!!!

Skoon Moisture Gel Superfluity (sample pot)
So this moisturiser is supposed to be super duper light and good for oilies like me. This was just okay for me. I was hoping it would be a holy grail because I am so sick of trying to find a moisturiser that works for me. I’m currently using a sample of Benefit’s Facial Emulsion, but that isn’t going to be a repurchase either. Any suggestions?

NuHair Treatments Shampoo Sulfate- and Colourant-Free
I was in a fix. I needed sulfate-free shampoo and all the stuff I like was sold out/not available so I tried this. This stuff truly is sulfate-free. It just doesn’t foam up in even the least bit. I won’t repurchase because it was so difficult to work with. It’s clear, so you can’t always tell how much you’re using, or where you’re spreading it if you happen to look in a mirror, it doesn’t spread well at all (I think), and it made my hair make that squeeeeeeeeeky sound when I rinsed it. Nope. Next.

Caudalie The Des Vignes shower gel (deluxe sample)
I bought a Caudalie trial kit thing a few years ago when my brother was still in Canada. This was included. It has quite a masculine smell to me – not a problem, just not my chosen scent, and it was only good for maybe 3 uses because of its super small size

The Body Shop Spa of the World African Ximenia Scrub
Love the scent, not into the scrub. It is NOT scrubby at all when used on wet skin. When used on slightly damp or dry skin, it crumbles off when you try scrub. It’s very fine – so any one who needs a regular scrub, GO FOR IT! For me, as someone who loves the scrubbiest of scrubs, it’s a pass. BUT it is way better than the sea salt one I have from this line. Ugh.

That’s it for now! Hope y’all had a great month! Also, PSA: It’s almost Christmas, guys!

About sonneillon

Avid reader (of sometimes dubious literature), word-lover and crazy TV series watcher. If I could live in a library, I would.

2 responses to “August dump

  1. Nina

    HI Sonneillon! Yes, unfortunately the Kiehl’s High-potency Skin-firming Concentrate was discontinued in SA a while ago. Why not try the Kiehl’s Dermatologist Solutions Precision Lifting Pore-Tightening Concentrate (refined Micro-Filtered Yeast Extract plus Geranium Essential Oil significantly improves the look of facial skin’s overall “bounce-back” quality and definition, while visibly reducing the size and appearance of enlarged pores) or the Kiehl’s Dermatologist Solutions Powerful Strength Line Reducing Concentrate (formulated with a 10.5% Pure Vitamin C, Powerful-Strength Line-Reducing Concentrate is clinically demonstrated to improve overall skin texture, tone and radiance while reducing the appearance of lines and wrinkles)? Both products are great!

    • Thank you so much for letting me know! I’ll definitely try get a sample of each of these and see which one works the best for my skin…or maybe they both will! They both sound wonderful 😀 Again, thank you!

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin

"We have lingered in the chambers of the sea
By sea-girls wreathed with seaweed red and brown
Till human voices wake us, and we drown."

- T. S. Eliot, The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock (1917)

sonneillon’s tweets

The Glam Green Girl

By Cassidy Taylor-Memmory

Lucky Pony

A Blog About Excellent Pretty Things

Rattle and Mum

Rattle and Mum

She Said

A blog about beautiful South African things

Lines of Escape

Travel Destinations, Outdoor Adventures & Hidden Gems

All Dolled Up

All about beauty

Beauty and The Boy | UK / Scottish Beauty Blog

Scottish Beauty Blog covering everything from skincare, hair and makeup to busting myths, finding dupes and breaking down trends

3 Kids, 2 Dogs and 1 Old House

Where parenting and life collide

Koekelooks

A beauty and lifestyle blog from a small town, South African perspective

Kate Loves Makeup

a beauty & lifestyle blog

Shakespeare & Sparkle

Books, Beauty & Lifestyle Bits

Prettiful Blog

A South African Makeup and Beauty Blog

lunalacey.com/

South African Beauty, Lifestyle & Fitness Blogger

Lipgloss Kisses

Writer, rambler, raconteur

I'll take it all

South African Fashion And Beauty Blog

