July junk

Can I just be totally cliche for a second and go OH MY GOD HOW IS IT AUGUST ALREADY? Where has this year gone? I don’t get it. Time is clearly not my friend!

I can safely say that July was a much better month overall. Phew. I also managed to spend very little money on crap, so yay to that! I’ve been trying to stick to a budget but I must say, this weekend just past has been so naughty. I went to the movies, bought popcorn, bought myself the Inglot AMC 77 gel eyeliner… Oh, and I bought myself lunch. And breakfast. Ugh ugh ugh. And this weekend coming up, I’m off to see Suicide Squad… Bye bye money. Okay, well hopefully not. I just have to rein myself in.

Onto June highlights…

  • Homemade pizza in the north. Lots of fun!
  • Christine’s going away party… bitter sweet. Was nice to catch up with everyone, but yeah. Blergh. Come home, already! It was also my first time at Pirates (wut?!)
  • Friend’s birthday bash! I was actually feeling really sick leading up to the birthday party but I decided bugger it, I’m just going to go because I haven’t seen him in ages. It was really great fun. We ended up doing sushi a few days later
  • Dinner at a friend’s. We all had to make a dish and bring it along. This was so much fun and the food was delish. It’s safe to say I have some seriously talented and kitchen-savvy friends.
  • Movies with the mister. This was nice 🙂

So, the empties. There’s a lot of samples/one use products in this list. Is that cheating? Ah well.

Johnson’s 3 in 1 make-up removing lotion
You don’t even want to know how long I’ve had this. I’m not even entirely sure… I got this in freaking HIGHSCHOOL and that was like 10 years ago. Oh god. Okay let’s just leave it at that. This worked pretty well actually! Wouldn’t repurchase mainly because I appreciate cleansing waters and cleansing oils a lot more but this wasn’t bad – even after all those years (dear god, what is in it??!!)

Cettua Pore Control sheet mask
I’m not sure this actually helped with anything… Pores aren’t like doors, people. They don’t just close or disappear or even shrink. Stuff can only help with the appearance of your pores. But that aside, I love sheet masks for the me-time involved and this was nice.

Lush Butterball
I got this for my birthday…last year? Could have been longer, to be honest. I used to be a big bath person. I’d make a thing out of it… a glass of wine, my kindle, hot-hot water and bubbles and just sit there for an hour turning into a prune. And then I stopped. I blame this on my brother. He is also a bath person but with a very bad habit of not cleaning the tub out after he’s been in there, marinating… Shiver. So, I stopped. But a few weeks ago, I scrubbed the hell out of the bath and decided I should treat myself. It was lovely and the scent of this bomb was amazing…vanilla and shea I think? It also felt very nourishing.

Nip+Fab Glycolic Fix Serum
This was a “nooooooooo” moment for me. So let’s have a little chinwag about this product. When I use it, I don’t see a difference in my skin BUT when I stop using it? Oh my gosh, things are just not the same. That is when I realised I loved this product. I stopped for awhile thinking this step was just a useless one. A few days later, I changed my mind. Other South African beauties will probably know that this isn’t available in Clicks anymore (sob.) so I actually repurchased this from Superdrug in the UK (it was on sale) and used Aramex Global Shopper to ship it here.

Skoon Moisture Gel Superfluity (5ml sample pot)
I really like this, although the scent is a bit too natural for my liking. It absorbed into my skin really quickly and left everything feeling comfortable. I’m currently using another pot of this.

Skoon Cleanser + Make-up Remover (5ml sample pot)
Everyone should try this. I love it. I think I’m done with all the sample pots of this stuff.

Tony Moly I’m Real Rice Mask Sheet for Clear Skin
Thanks to a friend, I got my mitts on two of these and two of another kind (which you’ll probably see further down the list). I love Tony Moly. I love sheet masks. I love me-time. I love looking like the scariest serial killer you’ll ever see. So basically, what’s not to love?

Soft Silk Body Scrub (Happiness/Lavender scent)
I am SO incredibly happy that this is out of my life. It’s supposed to be a scrub but the granules were so microscopic, it may as well have been called “gel”. It was finer than sand, finer than sandblasting sand (and that shit is fine). The scent was also really artificial. Basically, this did nothing for me. Bye!

Tony Moly Red Wine Pore Care Sheet Mask
Here it is! Same as above. Love.

Skin Creamery Coconut Jojoba Baobab Every Day Cream for Face and Body (sample sachet)
I got a sample sachet from Kamersvol earlier this year and only just got around to using this cream. Oh my gosh. I understand the hype. I didn’t use it on my face but I did put it on the tops of my arms, chest and thighs and it was love and first whiff. Also, this sinks in really quickly and doesn’t leave you sticky. The smell that stood out the most for me was spearmint, and I found this really soothing as I drifted off to sleep. Need moar.

Catrice Liquid Camouflage High Coverage Concealer 010
I’m pretty bleak this is finished, mostly because when I went into Dischem on the weekend to pick up another tube, they had fuckall stock and onto 020 was available (if this is your shade and you shop at Cavendish Dischem, go! There’s only 2 left…and one of them is opened). Currently I’m trying to finish off my Benefit Boing concealer, which I got a few years ago when I was in the UK. I’ve hit major pan on it, but it has become stiff and almost unusable… That was until I plonked a drop of the Skoon Cloud Manuka oil stuff in there and smooshed it around… Good as new.

Essie 3-way Glaze
This is a base coat, top coat and nail strengthener. I loved this but it turned goopy towards the end (there was only a bit left) so I’ve said goodbye to it. I’ve already cracked open a replacement – Essie’s Gel Setter, which is pretty awesome.

About sonneillon

Avid reader (of sometimes dubious literature), word-lover and crazy TV series watcher. If I could live in a library, I would.

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin

"We have lingered in the chambers of the sea
By sea-girls wreathed with seaweed red and brown
Till human voices wake us, and we drown."

- T. S. Eliot, The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock (1917)

sonneillon’s tweets

The Glam Green Girl

By Cassidy Taylor-Memmory

Lucky Pony

A Blog About Excellent Pretty Things

Rattle and Mum

Rattle and Mum

She Said

A blog about beautiful South African things

Lines of Escape

Travel Destinations, Outdoor Adventures & Hidden Gems

All Dolled Up

All about beauty

Beauty and The Boy | UK / Scottish Beauty Blog

Scottish Beauty Blog covering everything from skincare, hair and makeup to busting myths, finding dupes and breaking down trends

3 Kids, 2 Dogs and 1 Old House

Where parenting and life collide

Koekelooks

A beauty and lifestyle blog from a small town, South African perspective

Kate Loves Makeup

a beauty & lifestyle blog

Shakespeare & Sparkle

Books, Beauty & Lifestyle Bits

Prettiful Blog

A South African Makeup and Beauty Blog

lunalacey.com/

South African Beauty, Lifestyle & Fitness Blogger

Lipgloss Kisses

Writer, rambler, raconteur

I'll take it all

South African Fashion And Beauty Blog

