Good riddance to June

I feel like I can breathe again. For a moment there, it felt like my heart was drowning. This month, my brain really showed me how incapable it is at correctly analysing situations, so much so, I was left in a flat spin and feeling more panic than I have in a very long time.

That aside, there were some highlights…

  1. Kamersvol with Jess. I used some of my birthday money to get a few skincare goods (Skoon and Skincreamery). We had brunch and champagne while we were there. Perfection!
  2. Sunday meet up with friends. We went to JC’s and had a good early supper, half price cocktails and a much needed chinwag
  3. Lunch thanks to the boss. It was his birthday in June, so he treated us to burgers. So good!
  4. Father’s day breakfast was delicious 🙂
  5. A good friend’s birthday party. Exactly what I needed!

This month I have some major goals, mostly all finance related. NEED. to. SAVE. But also, I have a few appointments I need to schedule/save for and they’re the sort that dent the wallet 😦

I also didn’t publish a want-list last month. I got a lot of amazing things for my birthday, so I’ve been focusing on finishing up old stuff and using new stuff. I also feel like want-lists make me want to spend more money… Which I’m trying to avoid. BUT I think I will be buying a few things this month anyway.

Onto the empties!

Dove Purely Pampering Shower Cream with Shea Butter and Vanilla (500ml)
Love this stuff. I needed something to fill the gap so I got this. It was on special at Clicks or Dischem. It’s always my fall back.

Skoon Hot Cloth Cleanser Nkuto Butter (10ml sample pot)
A while ago I bought a bunch of trial size stuff from Skoon and I’ve been making my way through it all. I swear, I haven’t tried anything I don’t like from this brand yet! So, this is a hard/solid butter, which you scoop out. I warm it in my hands and then rub it over my dry face to remove makeup/or remnants of makeup. I then use a warm washcloth to remove the butter. Left my skin feeling soft and clean. Love!

Guerlain Lingerie de Peau Liquid Foundation – 02 beige clair (sample sachet)
The shade was too dark for me, but I still wore it to work, just blended down my neck so it didn’t look off. I’m definitely going to be the 01. I loved how this applied. It has a very liquid consistency that just melts into the skin. It really is no work at all. I did get a bit oily throughout the day, though, so not formulated for oily skinned girls but I may actually seriously consider it as a winter foundation because it is so nice.

Neutrogena Extra Gentle Cleanser
I bought 3 of these, so I’m on my second one as I type this. There was a 3 for 2 going on at Dischem and since I can’t find my usual Body Shop Cool and Creamy Wash ANYWHERE, I had to go for this (my second favourite morning cleanser). It’s simple, moisturising (but not too moisturising) and perfect for no makeup days. It gets the job done without freaking out my sensitive skin.

Woolworths Love Your Skin Extreme Moisture Hand and Nail Cream
Love the scent of this. Love how moisturising it felt – probably the glycerin. I didn’t repurchase as I have another hand cream floating around.

Agadir Argan Oil Moisture Mask with Keratin Protein – Sulfate free (Sample sachet)
I got this sample with my Olaplex No. 3 treatment. I reallllly loved this! It smelt amazing and oh my gosh, so thick! Seriously. This stuff is heavy duty and my hair loved it. I may consider this in future, to be honest!

Clarins Extra-Firming Day Cream (30ml deluxe sample)
My mom gave me a few of these – she gets them regularly when she buys her day/night cream (also Clarins, obv). I freaking love this stuff. I always end up using it around winter time, and my slightly (very slightly) less oily skin just loves it. I think they’re giving these away because the line has been discontinued? Someone, confirm this? I would buy this in full size but it’ll probably be in pot form (which I hate) and these deluxe samples come in squeezy tubes (yas!)

Kiehl’s High-potency Skin-firming Concentrate (Sample)
I really, really loved this. My skin felt so smooth and soft the next morning after applying this. Does anyone know how much this goes for? I did Facebook Kiehl’s but never got a reply. This is something I would consider saving up for. With the sachet, I got about 4 days use, and every single day was a good skin day. I do have another sample of this (YAY!) but I’m not using this right now.

Nip + Fab Glycolic Fix Exfoliating Pads
You get 60 pads in this tub, and I think it’s like 2.8% glycolic acid. I must say, I didn’t see too much of a difference using these. Sadface! But I do want to spring for the Extreme version (which is like 5%) Maybe the reason I didn’t feel like this was doing anything is because I’m using the Nip + Fab Glycolic Fix Serum, which is pretty damn amazing.

Esse Microderm Exfoliator (full size, 50 ml pot)
This lasted forever. This felt so luxurious and creamy. When they say microderm, they really mean it. You can’t feel the exfoliation at all – perfect for sensitive skins. I really loved this, but I haven’t repurchased cos I have Ren’s Glycolic Exfoliator stuff to get through first.

As you can see, I’ve used a lot of skincare this month, mainly because I’ve really been focusing on my skin since turning 29 *sob* I’m hoping this coming month is just as good!

About sonneillon

Avid reader (of sometimes dubious literature), word-lover and crazy TV series watcher. If I could live in a library, I would.

2 responses to “Good riddance to June

  1. I’m sorry that June was such a bad month for you, hope that July is treating you better already 🙂
    I also want to try stuff from Skoon and I was thinking to start with this hot cloth cleanser butter, so glad to hear (read?!) that you liked it so much. I have literally not used one single product on this empties post of yours, wow. Good luck with that saving of yours, it sounds very adult-ish xx

    • I would definitely head over to the Skoon website and pick up some trial/travel size products. They’re really generously sized so you get a good idea of how they will work for your skin. The reason Skoon keeps popping up in my empties is because I’m working through all the minis I ordered awhile ago (and I’m so glad I did!)

      I’ve honestly loved everything I’ve used so far (which is A LOT: gel-to-milk make-up remover, nkuto butter, overnight hydrating mask – esp after exfoliation, white wash cleanser – good for oily skin, moisture gel/superfluity – also good for oily skin, white cloud manuka concentrate – another oily skin love, and rosehip c+ concentrate). When you sign up, you fill in a questionnaire and they recommend products to your skin type! Super easy (sorry, don’t mean to sound like a salesman…Just reallllly love their stuff!)

      Hope my empties are helpful in recommending/not recommending products to try out 🙂 Thanks for commenting, as usual! 😀

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin

"We have lingered in the chambers of the sea
By sea-girls wreathed with seaweed red and brown
Till human voices wake us, and we drown."

- T. S. Eliot, The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock (1917)

sonneillon’s tweets

  • Some fucker in my area threw a can at my car, while yelling at me. Couldn't tell what he was saying and I didn't do anything wrong. Wtf.... 2 hours ago
  • What happens to brands that were exclusive to Stuttafords? E.g., @RetailBoxSA no longer stocks/sells TheBalm, but with no Stuttafords...? 6 hours ago
  • Looking for an eyeliner for the top waterline that isn't gonna smudge/run. I've tried Nyx Slide on Glide on, MAC & some drugstore. Help? 1 day ago
  • This John Mayer song, "Still feel like your man"... Sounds like he is saying "still feel like your dad"... Which changes everything. 2 days ago
She Said

A blog about beautiful South African things

Lines of Escape

Travel Blog

All Dolled Up

All about beauty

Beauty and The Boy | UK / Scottish Beauty Blog

Scottish Beauty Blog covering everything from skincare, hair and makeup to busting myths, finding dupes and breaking down trends

3 Kids, 2 Dogs and 1 Old House

Where parenting and life collide

Koekelooks

A beauty and lifestyle blog from a small town, South African perspective

Kate Loves Makeup

A beauty blog by a beauty lover

Shakespeare & Sparkle

Books, Beauty and Lifestyle Bits

Prettiful Blog

A South African Makeup and Beauty Blog

lunalacey.com/

South African Beauty, Lifestyle & Fitness Blogger

Lipgloss Kisses

Writer, rambler, raconteur

I'll take it all

South African Fashion And Beauty Blog

Mind the Curves

A plus size fashion and lifestyle blog about the journey to body positivity

Coffee Couture

Beauty | Fashion | Bits of Everything Else

