May empties

Oh May, you have treated me well! Mostly because it was my birthday month. I tried so very hard to be good and not buy anything. But then I went and bought 2 bras, got a Brazilian treatment done and bought some necessities. Sigh.

Some highlights for the month!

  1. Fancon and dinner in the North – This was a jam packed and seriously frustrating day. Fancon needs some serious work in my opinion but after finally getting in (that’s another story), I had a good time! Dinner in the North was also pretty damn good!
  2. Farewell – A friend has left us! Gone to the UK. I think the only good thing that came out of it was all the goodbye food babies and the fact that my mister has now decided we need to visit the UK. Before, he was very anti-UK (wut.)
  3. Birthday party at Jerry’s – Friends, burgers, cocktails. Need I say more? It was really nice to see everyone who could make it and just hang out even though it was a bit loud.
  4. Getting my hair did – My bank account is sad but my hair is so happy. I swear, a Brazilian does WONDERS for my super curly, frizzy hair. I am actually HAPPY with it after this treatment and don’t even bother straightening it, usually.
  5. Shopping day with the Jess – It was good 😀

Now, onto the goodies I finished:

Cettua Oil Control Facial Mask
I really like sheet masks. I mean, you look scary but it’s good if you just need some down time. I’m not sure this actually helped with oil control but it felt good on my skin and I have repurchased.

Mineraline Body Scrub – Vanilla
This was super scrubby and oily. For me, that’s a good combination. Unfortunately, it went bad after awhile. Thankfully I was almost finished with it when this happened so it wasn’t a great loss. It got really…viscous and stringy. Just thinking about it makes my stomach turn. But before that, really nice!

Loreal Super Liner So Couture
My favourite liquid eyeliner. It has a brush nib and is super duper accurate and pliable. This was my second repurchase so that should say something. I’ve now bought it for a third time because even though I really like the Stila liner I have, it’s just…not…the same.

Benefit Roller Lash Mascara
When Benefit relaunched here, this was the first thing I bought. I had been dying to try it. Maybe the hype was against it or maybe I just suck with mascara? Anyway, this was just OKAY. I’m glad I tried it but I probably won’t repurchase.

Nuxe Creme Fraiche de Beaute Light 24Hr Soothing and Moisturising Emulsion
What a name. Believe it or not, I bought this last year. Last year I got a Spree voucher for my birthday from my office peeps and they were having a cosmetic sale at the time (this was before Spree canned their beauty section). I needed a new moisturiser so I bought this and the Nuxe moisturising mask. This was okay. I went through stages of liking it and hating it. In the end I started using it as a night cream because it was just too moisturising for my skin during the day.

Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water (Pink bottle)
Love. I didn’t think I would. I’ve never tried a micellar water before. Okay, I lie. I got a Caudalie cleansing water in a gift pack I bought a few years ago, gave it a go and felt like it did nothing so I just assumed all micellar waters do nothing and people are just lying. Nope. This stuff is golden. Perfect for eyeliner mistakes as well. I actually thought the other day “I need to buy this stuff again… I don’t know what I’ll do without it.” Dramatic, I know. But really.

Starskin Balancing Bio-Cellulose Second Skin Face Mask
Got this in the post from a dear friend. Accompanying the mask was a letter telling me not to use it on the day of an event because it will make my skin go red. So, the Saturday before my birthday party, I put this on and sat back to watch some Pretty Little Liars (as you do.) Well, I didn’t feel any tingling – if anything, it felt soothing and hydrating so I figured maybe my skin just isn’t as sensitive as hers. Took it off after half an hour, rubbed everything in and went about my day. Well. 20 minutes into my day, my skin went hot and red. Like I was having some insane menopause flush. It disappeared after about an hour but wow, it was brutal. Anyway, despite that, I’d so use another one if they were sold here. My skin felt fantastic the next day.

The Body Shop Coconut Hand Cream (30ml)
This smelt like holiday. I used it at the office because the handsoap here dries me out. Basically, this stuff smells so strong, everyone will know when you’re moisturising. But it worked and wasn’t greasy, so A+

Sampar Pure Perfection Barely There Moisture Fluid
On the whole, I really liked this! At the moment I’m using some Clarins deluxe samples. Will I repurchase? Not sure yet!

Now I really need to keep my wallet under wraps!

 

About sonneillon

Avid reader (of sometimes dubious literature), word-lover and crazy TV series watcher. If I could live in a library, I would.

2 responses to “May empties

  1. Mili

    Yay! I hope you had a wonderfull birthday! I’ve been on and off about trying that mascara. I think the “they’re real” or whatever one is just okay, but I’m still curious to try this one too!

    Mili | Sharmtoaster

    • Thanks for the comment and the wishes 🙂 It was a really great day! For me, “They’re Real” does some crazy stuff to my lashes (in a good way) but isn’t one I wear regularly. I tend to whip it out for events or when I know I need some major staying power. At the end of the day, I think I like the Loreal mascaras way more, though! You should definitely give it a go and see if it works for you.

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin

"We have lingered in the chambers of the sea
By sea-girls wreathed with seaweed red and brown
Till human voices wake us, and we drown."

- T. S. Eliot, The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock (1917)

sonneillon’s tweets

Lucky Pony

A Blog About Excellent Pretty Things

Rattle and Mum

Rattle and Mum

She Said

A blog about beautiful South African things

Lines of Escape Travel Blog

Amazing Destinations, Outdoor Adventures & Hidden Gems

All Dolled Up

All about beauty

Beauty and The Boy | UK / Scottish Beauty Blog

Scottish Beauty Blog covering everything from skincare, hair and makeup to busting myths, finding dupes and breaking down trends

3 Kids, 2 Dogs and 1 Old House

Where parenting and life collide

Koekelooks

A beauty and lifestyle blog from a small town, South African perspective

Kate Loves Makeup

A beauty blog by a beauty lover

Shakespeare & Sparkle

Books, Beauty and Lifestyle Bits

Prettiful Blog

A South African Makeup and Beauty Blog

lunalacey.com/

South African Beauty, Lifestyle & Fitness Blogger

Lipgloss Kisses

Writer, rambler, raconteur

I'll take it all

South African Fashion And Beauty Blog

