The Feb bin

February may have been a short month, but it was simultaneously seriously busy and realllllly slow. There are a few highlights though…

  1. For the first time ever, I made a home cooked meal for the mister. I made creamy chicken, mushroom and sundried tomato pasta and for dessert, I made chocolate lava cups.
  2. I saw an old friend for his birthday celebrations at Neighbourhood. That was good, and the Okinawa’s are exactly how I remember them!
  3. I spent some time in Kraaifontein – had a braai and played drinking charades.
  4. Finally, I met Jess‘ man and had an amazing burger night with them at Tiger’s Milk in Muizenberg.

I’m sure I’ve missed a few things but February really felt jam packed!

I also started with my room. I’ve been threatening for a long time to repaint and February was the month where I just thought fuck it, I need to do it. It’s taken a good long while. Mostly because I am the most indecisive person ever. I feel like when I must make a decision, it has to be the right one. But you don’t always know it’s the right one until you’ve made it or not made it. Yes, all this crap goes on even when the decision is just what colour to paint my walls. And paint can be repainted. So I really shouldn’t have been stressing. Thanks, brain.

I went twice to buy paint samples and I actually ended up going with the colour I got on my first trip (8 sample pots and swatches later). Then I was faced with the decision – do I paint the colour below the picture rails, above the picture rails or above AND below the picture rails. See my problem? I ended up going with below the picture rails, FYI. Now that it’s painted, I’m actually really happy with it all. If anyone’s wondering, I chose Plascon’s Still Water.

I’m just waiting for my cupboard doors to go back on and then it’s done! I can put my shelves up again, repack my books, have my makeup in front of me again… The excitement is real, guys!

So, with all this chaos going on, I had a tough time finding (I had to pack everything in boxes) and using stuff. Here is the very small list…

Sorbet Vitamin C Face Mask
I actually wanted to use one of the masks AwkwardPurse gave me, but it was packed in a box and had no idea which box it was in. I really need to learn how to label stuff. Anyway, I was in Dischem or Clicks or something and picked this up. I’m not sure it left my skin any better than it originally was, but face masks are nice excuses for “me-time” and I like the mindfulness of looking after yourself, if that makes sense.

Soap & Glory The Breakfast Scrub
My favourite scrub of all time. All. Time. If I could stockpile this stuff, I would. Maybe I should, actually… Anyway, this little pot of magic came all the way from the UK thanks to my dear friend Laurie. I was lucky enough to get a replacement when my boyfriend’s mom went to the UK in December, so I do have a back up, but I try use this sparingly because it’s so hard to get on a regular basis.

I’m currently using Mineral Line Dead Sea Body Peeling Scrub in Vanilla – as recommended by AwkwardPurse. Sjoe. Now this is a winner. Not like Breakfast Scrub territory, but it’s pretty damn good! Nice and scrubby, smells divine, and leaves my skin seriously moisturised thanks to the essential oils, etc. If you don’t like a layer of moisture on your skin, maybe give this a miss, but I personally love it.

Lush Soaps
Err… Hmm. I can’t actually remember what flavours these were. I finished 2. I think they were Christmas ones. I have a feeling Snowcake was one of them. Basically, I smelt like marzipan.

Just checked quickly… I got Snowcake like I suspected, and Yognog (both of them Christmas presents from the parents).

Now, this gets an err and a hmm because you’d think that a bar of soap would last a while. I got a decent size. They fit in the tins you get there, and I swear, they just shrunk with every use. I don’t know… they just weren’t that amazing. I prefer the shower gels. BUT I am tempted to get Honey I Washed the Kids soap.

Caudalie Divine Oil – Travel Size/Sample Size (15ml)
I got this in a Caudalie gift set I bought maybe 2 years ago when my brother was in Canada. Got it off Look Fantastic or Feel Unique or something, had it delivered to him and he brought it home. The thing I loved most in this set was the Caudalie Moisturising Sorbet (face cream). Wow. I swear, using it was like angel song every time. The price for the full size… Sob. Just sob. Anyway, back to the Divine Oil…

It’s oily when compared to the Nuxe offering. But that’s probably because the Nuxe one is a dry oil and this isn’t. It also smells more summery to me, which was great in the warm months. It made my skin feel nice and it smelt nice. Nuxe is still my favourite… BUT… the Caudalie is good – I can’t deny that.

Skoon Cleanser + Makeup Remover
This. Stuff. Makes. Me. SO. Happy. I bought a few sample sets from Skoon and this was one of the things I wanted to try. Now, it did sting my eyes a litttttttle bit when I used it to remove eye makeup, but whatever.

So, this stuff looks/feels like a gel and spreads really well. When you start rubbing it in, it turns into an oil and almost warms up. It’s a strange sensation, but a good one! And it removes everyyyyyyyyything. Then, when you add water, it goes milky and you wash it off. No residue. None! And my skin feels so soft and smooth afterwards. I’ll be buying a full size of this baby!

Sorbet Balancing Body Wash
I got this stuff for Christmas. I tend to use up Sorbet products REALLY quickly. I think it lasted like 2 weeks? And like a banana, I went and bought another from the Refresh/Spa range (my fav scent) and it’s also almost done. So weird.

And that’s it! Woohoo!

About sonneillon

Avid reader (of sometimes dubious literature), word-lover and crazy TV series watcher. If I could live in a library, I would.

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin

"We have lingered in the chambers of the sea
By sea-girls wreathed with seaweed red and brown
Till human voices wake us, and we drown."

- T. S. Eliot, The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock (1917)

sonneillon’s tweets

The Glam Green Girl

By Cassidy Taylor-Memmory

Lucky Pony

A Blog About Excellent Pretty Things

Rattle and Mum

Rattle and Mum

She Said

A blog about beautiful South African things

Lines of Escape

Travel Destinations, Outdoor Adventures & Hidden Gems

All Dolled Up

All about beauty

Beauty and The Boy | UK / Scottish Beauty Blog

Scottish Beauty Blog covering everything from skincare, hair and makeup to busting myths, finding dupes and breaking down trends

3 Kids, 2 Dogs and 1 Old House

Where parenting and life collide

Koekelooks

A beauty and lifestyle blog from a small town, South African perspective

Kate Loves Makeup

a beauty & lifestyle blog

Shakespeare & Sparkle

Books, Beauty & Lifestyle Bits

Prettiful Blog

A South African Makeup and Beauty Blog

lunalacey.com/

South African Beauty, Lifestyle & Fitness Blogger

Lipgloss Kisses

Writer, rambler, raconteur

I'll take it all

South African Fashion And Beauty Blog

