The last – November and December

Wow, the end of last year was completely manic. I was busier than I’d been all year, work took over my life and brain and bed seemed like my only reprieve, sometimes. Thankfully, I had some time to shake that off!

Despite me not posting my empties online – still such a weird concept – I did keep track of (mostly) what I finished/liked/disliked/whatevs, so here we go… A little late, but oh well:

Creighton’s Coconut and Honey Indulge Bath and Shower
This was alright. I liked that it was a huge bottle and lasted a pretty decent amount of time, considering I’m not super shy when it comes to the amount of product I use. The smell got a little boring every now and then, so I did switch it up with Creighton’s Lime and Grapefruit Energise Bath and Shower. Probably won’t repurchase – not because it wasn’t nice or hydrating, just that there’s a billion other things out there which could be more exciting than this.

Tony Moly Changing Magic Mask Sheet Mask (Tea Tree)
Loved this! Looked like a serial killer, but it’s all good. Thanks to AwkwardPurse (hi!) I now have allll the masks. I can’t wait.

The Body Shop Vitamin E Overnight Serum-in-Oil
Another product I love-love-loved was this stuff. Now, I have oily/combo skin and initially thought that maybe this wouldn’t work so well for me. Lies. All lies. I used this in evenings, like 5 out of 7 days a week and every morning, my skin felt amazing. It has a bit of a dry oil consistency (it’s not a wet oil, if that makes sense), absorbs very quickly and gives me a glow! I haven’t repurchased this because I cracked open the Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate that I got from a blog sale – which is working amazingly as well. I will get this again, though, cos Kiehl’s is a bit more of a splurge.

Creighton’s Lime and Grapefruit Energise Bath and Shower
Into December, I finished this 500ml bottle. I must admit, I loved the zingy fragrance of this shower gel over the coconut one especially in the hot weather. Again, would I repurchase? Maybe, but probably not.

The Body Shop Camomile Waterproof Eye Make-up Remover
I got this as a gift in May, I think. So it took me forever to finish it up. To be fair, it was a decent size tube… This is a weird one for me. I liked it but it wasn’t immediately effective. What I mean by this is that with an oil cleanser, you don’t have to work for it. You slap it on, rub and your makeup is off. This required some time, especially when it came to removing mascara. Due to that, this makeup remover was relegated to the makeup shelf where I used it to clean up mistakes or if I was desperate, to take an entire face of makeup off. I won’t get this again. I’ve replaced it with my first micellar water ever (woot! Garnier, btw)

Neutrogena Visibly Clear Oil-Free Moisturiser
Ugh, this is another weird one for me. When I first started using it, I loved it. It worked so well for me. And then it just stopped. I felt greasy and gross and it made my face feel dirty. I stopped using it and moved onto something else. Then, when I had run out of everything, I went back to this. It worked again! And then didn’t again. So frustrating. I managed to finish the tube (I loved that it was in the tube. I don’t like tubs for my face cream) but it was a struggle. Didn’t go out and buy this again. I’m using Sampar Pure Perfection Barely There Moisture Fluid – really liking it…again, thanks for the heads up, AwkwardPurse!

Dermalogica Multi-active toner (50ml/travel size)
This. This stuff is lovely. I’ve never been a toner person. I’ve never felt like I’ve needed a toner. Early last year I was at my wit’s end with my skin. It wasn’t spotty, just really oily and after tweeting for some suggestions, One Stiletto at a Time told me I should give this a go. Now, Dermalogica is a scary place. They have all this amazing skincare but the price (especially earlier last year) gives me heart palpitations, so I settled on giving the travel size a go. Oh yes. It’s love. I haven’t repurchased this year, but I will soon.

Essie Ridge Filling Base and Mavala Super Base Coat
Both good products. Both went rock solid before I’d even finished the bottle. Oh, and with the Mavala, I encountered endless nightmares despite it being a really good product. If there’s even a tiny bit of product on the lip of the bottle or on the screwy bit, it is like super glue. Every time I wanted to use this stuff, my dad had to get the wrench out. I’m not joking. Pity. As a base coat, I’m using Sorbet’s basic base coat.

Here’s to spending less and using more. Or something like that.

About sonneillon

Avid reader (of sometimes dubious literature), word-lover and crazy TV series watcher. If I could live in a library, I would.

Leave a comment

Follow on Bloglovin

"We have lingered in the chambers of the sea
By sea-girls wreathed with seaweed red and brown
Till human voices wake us, and we drown."

- T. S. Eliot, The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock (1917)

Weirdoforest Pens

reviews and musings of a fountain pen addicted architect and illustrator

A Sophisticated Notion

Part Lingerie. Part Musings. Entirely Unique.

Sugar & Spice

A South African Beauty and Lifestyle Blog

Lucky Pony

A Blog About Excellent Pretty Things

Rattle and Mum

Rattle and Mum

Lines of Escape

Family travel, hidden gems and unforgettable destinations

Kate Loves Makeup

a beauty & lifestyle blog

Prettiful Blog

A South African Makeup and Beauty Blog

Lipgloss Kisses

Writer, rambler, raconteur