Balance

I don’t make New Year’s resolutions. I believe that if you want to make a change, don’t wait for the clocking over of a new year. Over the last two weeks, I’ve read innumerable posts about the goals people want to achieve this year. Some have summed it up in one word, others have used lists.

I like the idea of setting a “theme” for the year ahead. It’s not quite a resolution, it’s more of an outlook. This idea has stuck with me and I’ve realised that mine, for 2016, is balance.

Reflection and retrospect is a weird thing. Sometimes it’s not a very nice thing. I’m guilty of letting people, things, emotions consume me for periods of time, and I want to work towards undoing this.

I am lucky in that I have some really amazing and special people in my life. I have my health (though I will be working on that more), a job, a home… In other words, I have a lot of things I often take for granted. I forget to say “thank you”, “I love you” and “sorry” as often as I should; I just assume all these things will always be there when I want them, despite my occasional neglect.

To everyone who has stuck with me – thank you. I love you. Sorry. I’m working on becoming a better person. Here’s to a richer, lovelier year than the last and I hope you’ll all see me trying and growing.

Happy New Year!

About sonneillon

Avid reader (of sometimes dubious literature), word-lover and crazy TV series watcher. If I could live in a library, I would.

One response to “Balance

  1. Love it! Its beautiful to watch a friend grow emotionally. Here’s to balance…*cheers*!

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin

"We have lingered in the chambers of the sea
By sea-girls wreathed with seaweed red and brown
Till human voices wake us, and we drown."

- T. S. Eliot, The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock (1917)

sonneillon’s tweets

Lucky Pony

A Blog About Excellent Pretty Things

Rattle and Mum

Rattle and Mum

She Said

A blog about beautiful South African things

Lines of Escape Travel Blog

Amazing Destinations, Outdoor Adventures & Hidden Gems

All Dolled Up

All about beauty

Beauty and The Boy | UK / Scottish Beauty Blog

Scottish Beauty Blog covering everything from skincare, hair and makeup to busting myths, finding dupes and breaking down trends

3 Kids, 2 Dogs and 1 Old House

Where parenting and life collide

Koekelooks

A beauty and lifestyle blog from a small town, South African perspective

Kate Loves Makeup

A beauty blog by a beauty lover

Shakespeare & Sparkle

Books, Beauty and Lifestyle Bits

Prettiful Blog

A South African Makeup and Beauty Blog

lunalacey.com/

South African Beauty, Lifestyle & Fitness Blogger

Lipgloss Kisses

Writer, rambler, raconteur

I'll take it all

South African Fashion And Beauty Blog

