May overview

May was birthday month, which meant a few sneaky gifts to myself from myself… you know the deal. So let’s get done with that now – on my actual birthday, I finished half day and went off to Stylebar in Palmyra Junction and got a Brazillian treatment/blowout thing done. Oh, did my wallet weep. But I am telling you… I washed my hair for the first time on Saturday morning (it’s Monday now) and holy mother… SO SOFT. Unicorn hair, I tell you! It’s amazing. It’s never, ever, ever, ever felt like this in my entire life. I now, also, realise the importance of dry shampoo.

The second gift to myself was the Dior Eye Reviver Palette. When I got to the Dior counter in Edgars, I almost died. I could feel my wallet telling me that I could afford all the things I want, but my brain was saying that would be a very, very bad idea. I listened to the brain and just bought the Eye Reviver Palette but that blush. That blush. And the other palette. Ugh. Let’s move on.

Despite all the spending, I did actually finish a few things! Whoop!

Soap & Glory Orangeasm Zesty-fresh and Revitalizing Body Wash
When Laurie came down for her wedding, I made a sneaky Boots order for her to cart back to this side of the world, and this was one of the products in that haul. It was… okay. Rich and Foamous will be happening next time.

Loreal Elvive Extraordinary Oil Nourishing Shampoo for Very Dry, Dull Rebellious Hair
I really liked this. It smells spicy and almost manly? I’m using Joico at the moment because I need to use Sulfate-free crap on my new hair (*sparkle*), so, bye bye normal, cheap shampoo!

Lush D’Fluff Strawberry Shaving Soap (150g)
I had the big tub of this stuff, and surprisingly, it lasted me quite awhile. Did it give me a smoother shave? No. It felt nice, though, and smells nice but I don’t think that warrants a repurchase. Sorry, Lush. Maybe next time.

The Body Shop Strawberry Body Butter (50ml)
I had one of these small tubs from a gift set I received years ago (I know) so in an effort to finish it off, I took it to work to use as hand cream. This wasn’t a very good hand cream. It just didn’t sink in, and felt like it sat on the surface, but anyway, I kept at it and now it’s done. I got a hand cream for my birthday so I’ll be using that now.

Lush It’s Raining Men Shower Gel (250g)
I need this in my life again. It’s expensive…but it smells freaking amazing. Baby, you’ll be replaced with a new one. Promise!

Johnson’s Face Care Daily Essentials Oil Balancing Facial Cleansing Wipes
I use these to remove my makeup before gym, but I do make sure I wash my face when I get home. This is the green packet. I’ve since repurchased this, but instead, got the blue packet.

Carmex stick
Not to be confused with the pot version – which I’m almost finished with as well. This’ll be another repurchase because it is the ONLY stuff that works for my lips. I know it’s got Salicylic Acid in it, but hey, I don’t care. It works for me, and believe me, I’ve tried every single thing I can get my hands on.

About sonneillon

Avid reader (of sometimes dubious literature), word-lover and crazy TV series watcher. If I could live in a library, I would.

One response to “May overview

Leave a Reply

She Said

A blog about beautiful South African things

Lines of Escape

Travel Blog

All Dolled Up

All about beauty

Beauty and The Boy | UK / Scottish Beauty Blog

Scottish Beauty Blog covering everything from skincare, hair and makeup to busting myths, finding dupes and breaking down trends

3 Kids, 2 Dogs and 1 Old House

Where parenting and life collide

Koekelooks

A beauty and lifestyle blog from a small town, South African perspective

Kate Loves Makeup

A beauty blog by a beauty lover

Shakespeare & Sparkle

Books, Beauty and Lifestyle Bits

Prettiful Blog

A South African Makeup and Beauty Blog

lunalacey.com/

South African Beauty, Lifestyle & Fitness Blogger

Lipgloss Kisses

Writer, rambler, raconteur

I'll take it all

South African Fashion And Beauty Blog

Mind the Curves

A plus size fashion and lifestyle blog about the journey to body positivity

Coffee Couture

Beauty | Fashion | Bits of Everything Else

