The last of 2014’s empties

Hello, 2015! I hope you’re kind to me 🙂 I’m not the New Year’s resolution type of person, but I have set myself a few personal goals, all of which were made sometime towards the end of last year… So here’s to hoping they continue successfully! But onto beauty-related crap… Here are my December empties:

Essie – Nice is Nice
This got the bin because it turned goopy. I find Essie nailpolishes don’t really last very long? Or maybe it’s because we get old stock? Anyway, I loved the colour, but it had to go

Dove 100% Pure Cotton Cosmetic Wipes
This was a repurchase… and I may or may not add it to basket again. Unlike the time before, these turned dry towards the end. I had about 5 or 10 left, and I just had to chuck the whole lot because they were bone dry. Sadface. I was very good at resealing the bag and everything… I’m going to have to investigate a way of keeping these things…moist…

Schwarzkopf Gliss Hair Repair with Liquid Keratin – Shea Cashmere Shampoo for Dry or Drained Hair
This stuff. SUCKS. It didn’t want to lather, smelt mass produced (okay, all shampoos are mass produced…sorta… but good lord, this was just not my thing) and my hair just didn’t love it. I’m using the black bottle version now – which I used to love but may not love anymore.

Creighton’s Vanilla & Macadamia Cocoon Shower Burst
South African bloggers were mentioning Creighton’s left, right and centre but I just couldn’t seem to find the stuff in any of the places I shop at. But, one day I was feeling a little spendy and popped into the mall near my work and lo and behold, I found it sitting on a shelf in Pick n Pay. I obviously snatched it up. I should have bought more than one. Anyway, it smelt really nice – sweet and vanilla’y and it actually lathered quite nicely. I have yet to find it at another PnP, so when I get back to work, I may take a trip down…

Garnier Body Oil Beauty Oil-infused Nourishing Scrub
A friend of mine bought this back from the UK for me. And it was love-love-love. Too bad you can’t get Garnier body products in South Africa. Or if you can, I have not found them. Felt good and scrubby, with a heavenly scent and a definite repurchase if I could!

Clarins Gentle Foaming Cleanser with Shea Butter for Dry or Sensitive Skin
I’m trying to figure out if this was the full size tube or a sample. My mom received this as a gift with purchase (was a 50ml tube) and passed it on to me. Despite being a “foaming cleanser”, it definitely felt creamy and moisturising and didn’t strip my skin, but left it clean and clear. As a side note: I used this as a morning cleanser. I’d consider repurchasing this, but I suspect the price is outrageous.

And that’s that!

About sonneillon

Avid reader (of sometimes dubious literature), word-lover and crazy TV series watcher. If I could live in a library, I would.

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin

"We have lingered in the chambers of the sea
By sea-girls wreathed with seaweed red and brown
Till human voices wake us, and we drown."

- T. S. Eliot, The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock (1917)

sonneillon’s tweets

Lucky Pony

A Blog About Excellent Pretty Things

Rattle and Mum

Rattle and Mum

She Said

A blog about beautiful South African things

Lines of Escape Travel Blog

Amazing Destinations, Outdoor Adventures & Hidden Gems

All Dolled Up

All about beauty

Beauty and The Boy | UK / Scottish Beauty Blog

Scottish Beauty Blog covering everything from skincare, hair and makeup to busting myths, finding dupes and breaking down trends

3 Kids, 2 Dogs and 1 Old House

Where parenting and life collide

Koekelooks

A beauty and lifestyle blog from a small town, South African perspective

Kate Loves Makeup

A beauty blog by a beauty lover

Shakespeare & Sparkle

Books, Beauty and Lifestyle Bits

Prettiful Blog

A South African Makeup and Beauty Blog

lunalacey.com/

South African Beauty, Lifestyle & Fitness Blogger

Lipgloss Kisses

Writer, rambler, raconteur

I'll take it all

South African Fashion And Beauty Blog

