Empties this September

Guys, I think I did alright this month. Not great, but alright. Anyone seen Eddie Izzard’s neanderthal clip? Imagine “alright” said just like that. Or not? I don’t know.

And just quickly… in other news, a friend of mine came back from the UK bringing with him some wonderful spoils. I put in a little Boots haul and I received an amazing present from Holly (hi Holly!). It contained my first ever NARS and Illamasqua products! And some Laura Mercier and incidently, the nail polish I was going to buy myself but never did (obviously)! I might take some pics or something to show you guys.

But on to the list!

Benefit Fake Up – 01 Light
I picked this up when I was in the UK (was it a year and a half ago???? TIME, where are you going??) along with the Boing concealer or whatever it’s called. I used this for under my eyes and it wasn’t until this year that I used it regularly for some reason. Anyway, it was super pigmented, creamy and worked pretty darn well. Farewell! I wish you were still sold in SA!

FYI, it has been replaced with Wet & Wild (I giggle every time. I’m sorry. I can’t help it) Cover-Up. I’ll let you know what I think when I finish it.

Aussie 3 Minute Miracle Reconstruct Deep Conditioner
I liked this a whole lot more the first time I used it. This was my second-ish bottle and it was nice, but it didn’t give me the same amazing results this time round, which is odd. Maybe my hair is harder to please now? Not sure. Anyway, I liked the smell, I liked that it didn’t have a cap but was so easy to squeeze out and didn’t spill or leak. I might try another version of this when I feel inspired to buy Aussie again.

Caudalie Vinosource Moisturising Sorbet
This was a 10ml sample I received in a Caudalie gift set I ordered when my brother was in the UK earlier this year. I loved this stuff. Seriously. It was so hydrating but sank in really quickly. It made my skin feel amazing and it smelt nice and didn’t aggravate or cause any redness. I’d buy this again if it was actually available here. Sigh. Come to SA, damnit!

CaribbeanTan Skin Smoothing Exfoliator – Cinnamon and Coconut
I bought this thinking it would be a nice replacement for all The Body Shop exfoliators I manage to get through. I mean, it was about R45 or something ridiculous. Sadly, it felt like a R45 scrub – and not in a good way.

It was mostly liquid, but when mixed up, it was slightly better (obviously) but honestly, it didn’t last long, was quite abrasive (which suits me fine, but might bother someone else) and it seemed like they had just chucked some Robertson’s ground cinnamon in there. Come on guys, more effort! Also, I didn’t get any coconutty goodness 😦

Imperial Leather Foamburst Luxurious Body Wash – Moisturising Honey and Almond Milk
Yes, I bought this because tons of bloggers have mentioned this sometime in their blogging life. I wanted to see what the hype was all about. Was the hype real or sponsored? I’m leaning towards the latter…The first two or three times I used it, I loved it. After that, not so much.

So how does this differ from usual body washes? It comes in a shaving gel can, and works pretty much the same way. You depress the button and out comes a gel that foams up. Only, after the first few times, it didn’t come out as easy and wasn’t nearly as foamy, so I found myself using a bit more than I usually would. The can says it’s good for 40 showers, but I didn’t even get a month’s worth out of this. And sadly, in the end, the smell became cloying and meh,

Clinique Take the Day Off Cleansing Balm
Oh hello! I bought this to replace my The Body Shop Camomile Cleansing Oil because I really wanted to give a balm a try. This stuff was great and lasted FOREVER. One thing it did do was make my eyes a bit cloudly after I rinsed it off, but it didn’t sting and cleaned like a bomb. It was easier to travel with and is definitely something I’d like to repurchase in the future.

I went budget after I finished the Clinique and bought The Body Shop Camomile Cleansing Balm to compare… and err… not even close. It stings my eyes for some reason, and I find myself thinking about going back to the good old Camomile Cleansing Oil…

Vichy Normaderm Total Mat Anti-shine Anti-humidity Fresh Hydrating Gel
LONGEST NAME EVER. I loved this stuff. I have combo/oily skin and normally around mid-afternoon I feel a bit slippy. Ew, I know. This made everything awesome ALL THE TIME. It didn’t feel very hydrating though…

Anyway, I’d get this again. It would definitely work for summer, cos we all know how crazy hot it can get. I’m busy using Olay’s Smooth and something for oily/combo skin and it’s pretty nice.

The Body Shop Spa Wisdom Polynesia Monoi Miracle Oil
Yes! Finally finished this stuff. Would it sound weird if I said this was a very oily oil? I’ve been in love with Nuxe’s offering, which would definitely make this seem like an oil slick considering Nuxe is a DRY oil, but it’s also oilier than tissue oil and baby oil. Think… olive oil. Olive oil for the skin. Which sounds nice in theory.

It took forever to rub in and was so damned pungant. I just wasn’t a fan, unfortunately, so I used this to shave my legs with. I wouldn’t really suggest trying that. It clogged up the razor really quickly and I ended up cutting myself and almost bled out and died. Okay. I’m being a bit dramatic there, but I had to suture my leg because it was still bleeding after a week. That’s some serious business. I’m pleased to report I’m finally scabbing 😛 Sorry.

Phew. Hope you guys had a good September! Christmas is so close! CAN.NOT. WAIT!

About sonneillon

Avid reader (of sometimes dubious literature), word-lover and crazy TV series watcher. If I could live in a library, I would.

One response to “Empties this September

  1. For make-up remover I use Like Silk – lasts ages and doesn’t sting.

    DO MOAR BEAUTY THINGS CAUSE YOU KNOW ALL THE THINGS

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin

"We have lingered in the chambers of the sea
By sea-girls wreathed with seaweed red and brown
Till human voices wake us, and we drown."

- T. S. Eliot, The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock (1917)

sonneillon’s tweets

The Glam Green Girl

By Cassidy Taylor-Memmory

Lucky Pony

A Blog About Excellent Pretty Things

Rattle and Mum

Rattle and Mum

She Said

A blog about beautiful South African things

Lines of Escape

Travel Destinations, Outdoor Adventures & Hidden Gems

All Dolled Up

All about beauty

Beauty and The Boy | UK / Scottish Beauty Blog

Scottish Beauty Blog covering everything from skincare, hair and makeup to busting myths, finding dupes and breaking down trends

3 Kids, 2 Dogs and 1 Old House

Where parenting and life collide

Koekelooks

A beauty and lifestyle blog from a small town, South African perspective

Kate Loves Makeup

a beauty & lifestyle blog

Shakespeare & Sparkle

Books, Beauty & Lifestyle Bits

Prettiful Blog

A South African Makeup and Beauty Blog

lunalacey.com/

South African Beauty, Lifestyle & Fitness Blogger

Lipgloss Kisses

Writer, rambler, raconteur

I'll take it all

South African Fashion And Beauty Blog

