Empties for April

I swear, all these public holidays have messed with my sense of time. I’m not even going to bother calculating how many working days we actually had last month, but it felt like I was at home more than at work. Which just made me feel like I was bunking. Strange feeling.

Anyway, I’ve been trying to finish up a whole bunch of stuff (hence these posts) and April was a serious motherload for used up products. Brace yourselves!

Eucerin AQUAPorin Active Moisturising Cream SPF 15 + UVA
Phew. Long name. I found this stuff way too moisturising for my skin. It was initially my boyfriend’s, but he didn’t like it so I gave it a bash. I had to use a super tiny amount because it made me feel like a grease-fest. Yuck.

Revlon Nail Care Quick Dry Spray
It worked, but it finished so quickly! When it was used up, I felt a bit lost without it because I am *the most* impatient nail painter in the universe. I don’t want to sit and wait for paint to dry. I ALWAYS end up waffling the paint, either in my sleep (because I do it before I go to bed. Clever, I know) or because I need to do stuff, and most stuff is done with your hands. This spray helped the process along. i didn’t end up repurchasing it though, because I really wanted to try the Mavala version (which I ended up buying.)

Nivea In-Shower Body Moisturiser for Dry Skin
My mom bought this, used it once and hated it. She palmed it off to me and I finished the bottle. Now, I don’t mind this stuff. What I do mind is that the bottle is hard to grip/hold when your hands are wet. Because you apply this after you’ve washed (and you need to rinse it off after you’ve rubbed it in and let it settle for a bit), you are inevitably going to be trying to pick up a wet bottle with wet hands, or a dry bottle with wet hands, or any variation thereof. Nivea. Guys. Please add some grip. OR SOMETHING.

I didn’t end up repurchasing this just because it isn’t a necessity and this whole exercise was established to stream line my routine and minimise all the crap in my life. Also, I tend to shave after a shower (TMI, sorry) and it doesn’t make sense to me to use this yummy smelling product (which leaves a moisturising film on your body even after you’ve dried off, FYI) only to cover your legs in shaving cream.

But, point is… I didn’t hate it and would use it again. Speaking of body conditioners, I’d love to try Lush’s Ro’s Argan Oil stuff. That’s the right name, right? Anyway.

Neutrogena Men Skin Clearing Shave Cream
Yes, this is a guy product. I got a long time back when I was having issues with shaving rashes (gosh, I really am getting all personal this time round) and it helped. Somewhere down the line I switched razors and went back to normal shaving gel and this got neglected. I finished it and was reminded of how awesome it is. It has a menthol feel, which makes your legs feel really fresh. Like the name suggests, it’s a cream so it doesn’t come out thick and foamy like a shaving gel, and you only need a thin layer. Repurchase? Maybe… As far as I’m concerned, shaving should be a cheap endeavour unless you’re having issues. I’m issue-free for now and this little guy was way more pricey than a can of good ol’ Gillette.

Schwarzkopf Gliss Ultimate Repair Leave-in Spray with Liquid Keratin
It smells good, it makes my hair feel amazing and I totally replaced my finished bottle with a brand new sparkling bottle. Good for curly/frizzy haired girls or boys. It’s one of those oil/water-based mixes so you need to shake it up before spraying it on.

Kings & Queens Queen Isabella Cinnamon Orange Shower Gel
Nothing special about this stuff. I got this from Edgars around about the time that Korres launched in SA. Unfortunately Korres isn’t stocked at my local store, but I did see this stand and decided to give the product line a go. I chose Cinnamon Orange because I wanted something a little fresh and a little warm. It smells alright… Orange-y… but not as deep/warm as I wanted it to be. Either way, it lasted well and was a nice change from my usual creamy/nutty shower gels.

Smashbox Photo Finish Lid Primer
Oh my. This stuff. It’s like magic in a little tube. Basically, it’s a primer for your eyelids. It helps keep eyeshadow on for longer and stops creasing. It’s sort of flesh-toned/peachy but it dries down near invisible. I got into primers when I got my Naked 2 palette from the UK last year. I finished up the primer that came with the palette and wanted to get a new one. Since we don’t get Urban Decay in SA, I thought I’d try this version. I actually like it way more than the UD Primer Potion. It has a doe-foot applicator, which is super handy and it lasted forever. For reference, I bought this sometime between December last year and early January of this year. I didn’t repurchase because I was given another UD Primer Potion sample with a blog sale stash, so I’m finishing that off first.

Bourjois Magic Nail Polish Remover
Everyone loves this stuff. I like how the sponge is not too firm but also not too flimsy, but oh god, I hate the feeling it leaves on my fingers. It feels greasy and smells weird and I have to wash my hands a few times just to get the stuff off. I’ve swapped to another pot-sponge remover and although the foam is sucky, it doesn’t make my fingers feel gross.

Dove Nourishing Oil Care Daily Treatment – Shampoo and Dove Nourishing Oil Care Daily Treatment – Conditioner
I bought this in a pack at Dischem for some ridiculously cheap price. I love Dove products and this pretty much reaffirmed my love. It made my hair feel magical and soft and bouncy. I didn’t repurchase because I wanted to try something new, but it’s definitely something I’d get again.

Gillette Satin Care with a Touch of Olay Shaving Gel
Ugh. Olay. Really? I’m assuming it’s supposed to be more moisturising and caring for your skin? Honestly, it felt like all the other shaving gels in the Gillette range.

The Body Shop Shea Sugar Body Scrub
This stuff lasted a month almost to the day. I go through exfoliators like nobody’s bizniz. I loved this. It felt scrubby, it felt really moisturising and smells great. I replaced it with the Honey version. And honestly, the Honey stuff smells great but the cream is hard and doesn’t feel as gritty. Oh well!

About sonneillon

Avid reader (of sometimes dubious literature), word-lover and crazy TV series watcher. If I could live in a library, I would.

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin

"We have lingered in the chambers of the sea
By sea-girls wreathed with seaweed red and brown
Till human voices wake us, and we drown."

- T. S. Eliot, The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock (1917)

sonneillon’s tweets

  • Some fucker in my area threw a can at my car, while yelling at me. Couldn't tell what he was saying and I didn't do anything wrong. Wtf.... 2 hours ago
  • What happens to brands that were exclusive to Stuttafords? E.g., @RetailBoxSA no longer stocks/sells TheBalm, but with no Stuttafords...? 6 hours ago
  • Looking for an eyeliner for the top waterline that isn't gonna smudge/run. I've tried Nyx Slide on Glide on, MAC & some drugstore. Help? 1 day ago
  • This John Mayer song, "Still feel like your man"... Sounds like he is saying "still feel like your dad"... Which changes everything. 2 days ago
She Said

A blog about beautiful South African things

Lines of Escape

Travel Blog

All Dolled Up

All about beauty

Beauty and The Boy | UK / Scottish Beauty Blog

Scottish Beauty Blog covering everything from skincare, hair and makeup to busting myths, finding dupes and breaking down trends

3 Kids, 2 Dogs and 1 Old House

Where parenting and life collide

Koekelooks

A beauty and lifestyle blog from a small town, South African perspective

Kate Loves Makeup

A beauty blog by a beauty lover

Shakespeare & Sparkle

Books, Beauty and Lifestyle Bits

Prettiful Blog

A South African Makeup and Beauty Blog

lunalacey.com/

South African Beauty, Lifestyle & Fitness Blogger

Lipgloss Kisses

Writer, rambler, raconteur

I'll take it all

South African Fashion And Beauty Blog

Mind the Curves

A plus size fashion and lifestyle blog about the journey to body positivity

Coffee Couture

Beauty | Fashion | Bits of Everything Else

